the direction of continuing development of the african mango diet african mango diet
NVQ - National Vocational Qualification
By Vajira Perera
Director – NVQ, Tertiary & Vocational Education Commission

Ministry of Vocational & Technical Training
The Tertiary & Vocational Education Commission (TVEC), which is under the Ministry of Vocational & Technical Training has developed and promotes the National Skill Standard and in order to offer NVQ. There are seven distinct levels and the seventh level is certificate is compatible to a degree. Public and Private training and education institutes who are registered and accredited by TVCE can offer these certificates.

National Vocational Qualification – A reform in Vocational & Technical Training
The Tertiary & Vocational Education Commission (TVEC), which is under the Ministry of Vocational & Technical Training, has already developed National Skill Standards covering 45 trades, in order to promote on going reforms in Vocational & Technical training called National Vocational Qualification (NVQ).
NVQ Qualification Laddering

NVQ Qualification Laddering
The main guide for NVQ framework is the National Skill Standard (NSS). Present requirements of the Industry with updated technology are considered at the preparation of NSS. Industry expertise participation is a must in this exercise. The NSS is followed by preparation of curriculum for particular occupation.

The Commission (TVEC) has a separate division called NVQ to establish and implement this concept National wide. The NVQ has seven distinct levels that are chronologically ascending from level 1 to 7.
Up to level 4, the competencies are called as craftsmanship (where level 4 is master craftsman), while levels 5 and 6 are Diploma and Higher Diploma respectively. The final level, which is level 7, is compatible to a Degree qualification  is offered by the Vocational & Technical University (UNIVOTEC).
The salient feature of this reform is that it is a unified system of qualifying and as such, every trainee is getting a National certificate which carries world recognition as this reform is in align with the systems those adopted by other developed countries.
The potential employability for those who possessing NVQ qualification will be high as the reform is focused on respective Industry requirements. There are two routes of getting qualified with NVQ. They are, by following a structured course in a registered and accredited Public or Private Institution. This course of study called as competency based training (CBT). At the end of the study programme, trainee has to fulfill qualifying requirements that are assessed by independent assessors. Independent assessors are used to maintain the impartiality. The other route is called as recognition of prior learning (RPL). This route facilitates to obtain NVQ those who have acquired their knowledge and competencies through some other means viz. formal or informal. Here too, the assessors are independent. And certificate does not show the route whichever way it is.
CBT courses could conduct by Institutions those registered with the commission (TVEC). And also they could issue NVQ qualification once their courses are accredited to do so. All registered Institutes and accredited courses are continuously monitored their improvement and consistency of the quality of services provided by adopting to a specific quality management system.
Up to now, the commission is able to finalize to issue about 200 certificates of NVQ in some of these 45 trades. A social marketing approach of promotional programmes for private sector training institutes and awareness for students and those who in the NVQ trade are being carried out by the NVQ division of TVEC and so far more than 50 programes of both were conducted and the feedback for same are analyzed and outcomes are very encouraging.

NVQ Qualification Laddering


Copyright © 2009-2010 ........ All rights reserved
Education Guide Sri Lanka, Powered by Neptune Publications and designed by SanetraSolutions